“I’m not an artist, I’m a fucking work of art.”*

So… this was my Friday night (way back on the 12th or something, because you know I am very prompt about making these posts and always do so in a timely fashion).

octavius day 1

It was also most of the afternoon. Three and a half hours of tattooing; plus about an hour and a half finalizing the design and having it drawn on (I know, I know: you’re not supposed to let them draw on you… I don’t care, this guy was amazing).

I desperately wanted it to stop at four distinct points in time. The shading needle feels like being flayed by millimeters and the shading was most of it.

However, as I said above, my tattooist was awesome and he talked to me about different types of ink and needles and tattooing in general (because I asked) and since it was new and interesting information, that pretty well distracted me from the worst parts.

Everybody at the shop was really nice. They casually wandered in and out of the rooms where sessions were going on to check out what was being done and start random conversations.

As I’ve said before on the old blog: I have never once felt the slightest bit uncomfortable around any tattooist or piercer. Maybe I’ve just gotten lucky, maybe I have a high tolerance for inappropriate banter, I don’t know, but I feel like the people in tattoo shops are a lot less judgmental than some of the other sorts of assholes I have to deal with in real life.

Also: I’m not going to stop. I will be going back for more just as soon as I decide what I want done where and have the funds to cover it.

Also also: I dyed my hair black again** because I was getting really sick of how that red faded. It always looked effing spectacular… until I washed it a couple of times.

That level of intensive maintenance to keep a semi-natural color? Nope, not going for it.

And the obvious fix was black because it feels the most “me” (Gawth Bish 4 Lyfe!).

_____________

*Tagging this post “goth is dead” for the sole fact that I’m quoting Marilyn for the title, not to imply that I think technicolor ocean-themed tats are particularly goth.
**Insert super-classy “Once you go black…” joke.

