“In novels, stuff keeps happening.”

This is the wisdom I received after asking for the difference between short fiction and novels, and how to turn one into the other.

I am the sort of person that reads books about writing. I like outlines (I don’t use them but I like them in theory: structure). I like lists and processes. I like knowing that if I go from point A to point B to point C, it will eventually result in X.

But creative pursuits rarely follow any sort of reliable pattern. I know this… I write. Then why am I surprised (and frustrated and annoyed) when someone refuses to hand me a set of instructions that won’t even be transferable from one writer to another?

I want the alchemy without the effort but that isn’t how it works. I know this… and that only leaves one real way to go about it.

(Brb: Going noveling.)

